Transgendered Bathrooms

I can’t even breathe, you guys. You know, times were bad when I was much younger. Bad enough that I went back into the closet to hide. It was a scary place, it really was. None of the perpetrators in any situation were punished. If we had all known then what we know now… We could own this town today.

I was going to write a post about that. I was going to write about not backing down. About not leaving these towns. But, then, I checked my Facebook. Now, I don’t really know what advice to give there.

“The Kentucky state senate votes for a bill that would put transgendered bathrooms in schools”

While rolling this around and around in my head, trying to understand all sides of the argument, trying to form an opinion, I read the comments.

Here are some of them…

“I’m sorry, but God didn’t make you that way. That was a choice you made.”

“Good gravy, Jesus come quickly!”

“Hysterical?! I’ll tell you what’s hysterical is people that can’t figure out if they are a boy or a girl, whether you have to stand up or squat to pee. Guys are guys and girls are girls, we don’t share bathrooms! That’s hysterical now! Right is right and wrong is wrong same as black is black and white is white. You’re talking to the wrong one if you’re wanting to spread your homosexual agenda. I’m not for it, don’t want to be subjected to it, and will not tolerate it.”

It’s like that, over and over. There’s mentions of Sodom and Gomorrah, of course, and may a black hole swallow us all if there wasn’t a Boys Don’t Cry reference. They’re insisting that homosexuality is the same thing, that we’re all pedophiles…it’s more than a little frightening and these people are adults, grown people. That live close to me and mine.

I was so proud, you guys. I thought tolerance, acceptance and equality were things we could actually hope for now. Apparently, I was very, very wrong. I’m highly distressed.

As I am doing this all from my phone I can not provide you with the link as I don’t know it. The Facebook page is WBKO Television…I’m off to grieve.

Leave a Reply

